Strategic Alliance 

The collaboration between Leiden University, TU Delft, and Erasmus University Rotterdam is in the form of a strategic alliance. This means that the three universities collaborate on the basis of a shared vision and shared objectives in specific areas.  The agreements governing the alliance are contained in a set of joint regulations.

Chair, Steering Committee and deans

Professor Wim van den Doel is the Chair of Leiden-Delft-Erasmus and head of the LDE project office.

The Executive Boards of the three universities together form the steering committee for the strategic alliance. The presidency rotates between the presidents of the three Executive Boards. The steering committee’s role includes inspiring, coordinating and facilitating collaboration in the areas of education, research and valorisation.
The Leiden-Delft-Erasmus programme manager coordinates the partnership between the universities and acts as the secretary of the steering group.
The deans of the faculties are closely involved in the collaboration.

Executive boards and deans

Multidisciplinary Centres

The idea behind the collaboration is that it is shaped from the bottom up, based on substance, where working together creates added value. In the Leiden-Delft-Erasmus centres scientists collaborate on complex social challenges. 

Leiden-Delft-Erasmus Centres

Medical Delta

Medical Delta is the consortium for health and medical technology of the three universities, the Erasmus Medical Centre, and the Leiden University Medical Centre, together with more than 150 companies, science parks, and public-sector bodies.

Medical Delta