Medical Delta

About Medical Delta

Medical Delta brings together three renowned universities, two university medical centers, four colleges, governments, companies, healthcare institutions and other parties in the province Zuid-Holland. Medical Delta started a major scientific program in 2019. In the coming years over 250 scientists will work together in twelve different consortia on technological solutions for sustainable care. Companies, healthcare institutions, the province and major cities in the Delta are also closely involved, including through Living Labs where innovations with end users are tested in (healthcare) practice. The objective for the next five years is that these research programs grow in size and achieve excellence and technological solutions for sustainable care. In doing so, Medical Delta gives an enormous boost to the life sciences & health sector in the Zuid-Holland region and in the Netherlands as a whole.

Medical Delta was founded in 2006 by the three universities (TU Delft, Leiden University and Erasmus University Rotterdam) and the two UMCs (LUMC and Erasmus MC) in the province Zuid Holland. Since 2016, four colleges from the province (The Hague University of Applied Sciences, Hogeschool InHolland, Hogeschool Rotterdam and Hogeschool Leiden) joined also.

Medical Delta


Gertine van der Vliet